The mill was built by Confederate Army Captain
Forney. Forney died before completion, and his wife allowed the contractor to complete the mill. The contractor was a German
from South Carolina by the name of G. E. Morris. He was an inventor and had a foundry in South Carolina where he made all of the gears and parts used in the mill. He had hired a man to
build a water wheel for him and the man slipped in and patented it two hours before Morris got to Washington. Morris went home and changed the design on his wheel and it worked better than the
first one. He made money, while the man who stole his invention went broke. Morris also had a single mill down below the mill
(the foundation still stands). Split shingles, about three feet long, were put on the mill originally. Morris was building
three other mills at the same time. Union soldiers burned them, but missed the Kymulga mill.
Mrs. Forney eventually sold the mill to James Baker who
owned it for many years. He sold it to a dentist, Dr. Hurd, and he sold it to John L. Carter in 1949 who operated it as an
active mill until it was sold in October 1973 to Ed Donahoo.
The lumber and timbers were cut from the mountains across
the creek and the big timbers were hewn out in the surrounding woods. All lumber was cut using water power.